The Creativity, Education, and Leadership Newsletter
The Creativity, Education, and Leadership Podcast with Ben Guest
50. Zen and the Art of Coaching Basketball, Part 2
0:00
-34:37

50. Zen and the Art of Coaching Basketball, Part 2

A conversation with Dre Alvarez

Podcast Links: Apple/Spotify

Andrés Alvarez

Can I react in the moment, just as it is?

My book, Zen and the Art of Coaching Basketball: Memoir of a Namibian Odyssey, is officially out in the world. You can buy it here.

Today’s interview is a reversal of roles. Andrés Alvarez (@nerdnumbers) is interviewing me for his podcast, Box Score Geeks, and I’m cross-posting the interview.

In this conversation, Dre and I talk:

  • Phil Jackson and a different way of coaching.

  • Why I stopped coaching.

  • The University of Missouri and their Master’s Program in Positive Coaching (@CoachingMizzou).

  • Michael Jordan: Why would I think about a shot that I’ve already taken?

  • Chris Fox (@ScholarlyFox) and his idea of a writing sprint.

  • All-in, the cost to publish my book was $1,500.

  • Thoughts on self-publishing and how many books I need to sell to break even.

  • Shoutouts from Ben: Positive Coaching Alliance (@PositiveCoachUS), Mizzou (@GSSphd), Greg Graber (@GregGraber), and the Blue Devils.

    Mevin and Sepo
  • Shoutouts from Dre: Dave Zirin (@EdgeofSports) and Agony of Defeat (@defeat_of and @jonweile).

  • Dre and I end by talking about our two previous Ted Lasso podcast episodes which you can listen to here and here.

You can buy my book, Zen and the Art of Coaching Basketball: Memoir of a Namibian Odyssey, here. The hardcover makes for a great gift :-)

0 Comments
The Creativity, Education, and Leadership Newsletter
The Creativity, Education, and Leadership Podcast with Ben Guest
Conversations about creativity, education, and leadership.