The Creativity, Education, and Leadership Newsletter
The Creativity, Education, and Leadership Podcast with Ben Guest
49. Zen and the Art of Coaching Basketball, Part 1
0:00
-44:41

49. Zen and the Art of Coaching Basketball, Part 1

A conversation with Dre Alvarez

Podcast Links: Apple/Spotify

Sitting and watching what happens…

That was the culmination of my coaching career, just sitting and watching and letting what was going to happen, happen.

My book, Zen and the Art of Coaching Basketball: Memoir of a Namibian Odyssey, is officially out in the world. You can buy it here.

Today’s interview is a reversal of roles. Andrés Alvarez (@nerdnumbers) is interviewing me for his podcast, Box Score Geeks, and I’m cross-posting the interview here.

Part 2 will drop on Thursday.

In this conversation, Dre and I talk:

  • How the thesis of my book is the way we think about coaching is wrong.

  • How our traditional model of coaching is based on obedience.

  • Dre likens the story to a modern day Hoosiers.

  • Simmons High School, the Mississippi Delta, and the best player I ever coached, Jasper Johnson.

  • Bob Knight and Coach K.

  • A documentary I made in 2012 titled SHOWTIME.

  • The phrase “Crack the whip.”

  • The Brian Scalabrine Challenge: I’m closer to LeBron James than you are to me.

  • Steve Jobs’ Stanford Commencement Speech: You only connect the dots after.

Part 2 will come out Thursday. Dre and I talk Phil Jackson, Michael Jordan, and Ted Lasso.

In the meantime, please consider buying, or gifting, my book, available here.

0 Comments
The Creativity, Education, and Leadership Newsletter
The Creativity, Education, and Leadership Podcast with Ben Guest
Conversations about creativity, education, and leadership.